Our Mission 

SMW Financial Credit Union's mission is to build trusted relationships and strong financial futures for our members. Membership is open to anyone who lives, works, worships, goes to school or volunteers in Anoka, Hennepin, Ramsey or Washington Counties of Minnesota. We play an active role in supporting those communities through volunteerism and financial education.

We offer everything from home buying seminars, to loan and deposit products, to investment services, to free financial advice to our members.

Our History 

SMW Financial Credit Union was established in 1953 for the purpose of assisting members' financial needs in a credit cooperative. The credit union is a service-oriented financial cooperative that originally opened to Local 10 union members and its retirees; employees of companies affiliated with the SMW trade unions in Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota; and immediate family members.

Over the years the St. Paul and Minneapolis Local 10 credit unions merged and became "SMW Financial Credit Union." For more than 50 years, the credit union has been offering an assortment of products and services geared to meet the financial needs of its members and their families.

In 2006, SMW Financial Credit Union expanded its membership charter to serve Anoka County. As of March 1, 2016, anyone who lives, works, attends school, volunteers or worships in Anoka, Hennepin, Ramsey or Washington Counties are eligible for membership. 

Once a member, always a member at SMW! Members can move out of town, get married, change employers, and so on. But once a member, always a member.